September 2018 Wrap Up

My September sure went by fast and what a book filled September it was! I read a lot of books this month, 11 total and 4435 pages. I’m counting Vicious too because I know I can finish it today! This month also had so many fantastic new releases and my budget is hurting from it.

So without Further ado here’s what I read in September…

Give the Dark my Love by Beth Revis   ‎★★★★★

Ugh this book was not at all what I expected. But it was such a beautiful and heartbreakingly good read. I can’t wait to meet Beth Revis at YallFest this year!

The Lantern’s Ember by Colleen Houck ★★★

A book that reminded me very much of Sleepy Hollow/ Halloweentown, I actually really really enjoyed this book. My really rating is probably closer to 4 stars but I keep thinking about how creepy and possessive Dev was and I can’t bring myself to it. This is a perfect spooky read for Halloween and if you liked the Halloweentown movies.

The Revolution of Jack Frost by K.M Robinson ★★

I just couldn’t get into to this to save my life. I absolutely love Jack Frost and I thought it would be like a cool story about him becoming Jack Frost, aka Rise of the Guardians (a fantastic movie, that I wish more people saw) This book was none of the above. I just didn’t understand the relationships between the characters, the actual plot. It felt very much like the setting was from The Maze Runner and I just didn’t like it.

Secret Scouts and the Lost Leonardo by Mr. and Mrs. Kind ★★★★

This was just a cool book. It originally came out in 2013 but has finally been translated from Dutch. And it was such a cool story. Reminded me so much of Stranger Things in the way the group of friends dynamic was. Great descriptive writing, I really enjoyed the adventures these crazy kids got into. Definitely recommend for fans of Stranger Things and Magic Tree House books.

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa ★★★★

I finally read another Julie Kagawa book! I didn’t really know much about this story, but I do love faeries. Also the parallels with my fave Midsummer Night’s Dream were amazing, and I loved it. But I thought Grimalkin and Puck were perfect secondary characters. First book in a series I can’t wait to finish!

The Grim Lovelies by Megan Shepherd

This is a book I just can’t bring myself to rate because I still don’t know how I feel about it. I did not like the ending, but it was also so open-ended it clearly left room for it to grow into other stories. Some people will love this and there will definitely be people who don’t, I just still don’t know where I fit in.

The Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa ★★★

Book 2 in the Iron Fey series was a little more on the romance part but this is an older YA so I knew what to expect. I still greatly enjoyed this. And I can’t wait to write my new mini review for this series! I honestly would read all the books from Grim’s perspective.

Wildcard by Marie Lu ★★★

Warcross was a great and easy read for me. Marie Lu is an author I can lose myself into the writing, but Wildcard just didn’t do it for me. This was just a book where I wasn’t as connected to the story like I thought I’d would be. But I’m going to move on to another one of Marie Lu’s other series and see how that goes.

Grave Mercy by Robin Lafever ★★★★

This is so close to a 5 star read, but there were some parts where I was a little confused by the plot. Honestly the author’s note at the back of this book is everything, it made me enjoy the story more. Definitely recommend this to people who like historical fiction!

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas ★★★★★

HoF is my favorite Throne of Glass book, I mean I still have to read Kingdom of Ash but it’s still. I’m currently writing my review now, but basically I love rereading books.

Vicious by VE Schwab

I won’t put down anything for this because I’m almost done. But I’m really pumped for my first VE Schwab read.

 

I’m still newer to blogging, but I finally figured out a set time frame for reading in October. I probably said this in August, but seriously, I got a system down. Get ready for a ton of new reviews, posts about my obsession with movies and probably some anecdotes from my days working in the ER. It’s about to Flu Season, and I’m already dreading it.

Anyway, I hope everyone had a fantastic September! We are finally heading into my favorite month, OCTOBER!!!!

 

Twitter                                            Goodreads                                           Instagram

One thought on “September 2018 Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s